CHL Forms & Instructions 

CHL Application Instructions - New Applicants

Instructions for applying for a Concealed Handgun License (CHL) are listed below.  Complete the entire application and bring it - in person - to the Lane County Sheriff's Office. 

  • Complete the entire application.  Incomplete applications will not be accepted.

  • Be prepared to pay the $65.00 fee by either cash or check.  Make checks payable to "LCSO".

  • Citizenship Requirement - bring in either your Birth Certificate or US Passport (this is a new requirement).

  • Bring two pieces of current identification - one must have a photo (e.g. Driver's License).
  • If you are a military veteran, new Oregon law requires proof of your discharge status - bring in your DD214 or other form of separation status.
  • Proof of handgun competency.


CHL Renewals  

Instructions for renewing your CHL are below. 

  • Complete the entire application and bring it - in person - to the Lane County Sheriff's Office.  Incomplete applications will not be accepted.
  • Be prepared to pay the $50.00 renewal fee by either cash or check.  Make checks payable to "LCSO".
  • Bring your current (not expired) CHL and one other piece of current identification.

Link to:  CHL Application - Fillable Form

 
CHL Change of Address

 

Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) require that CHL holder’s keep their current physical address on file at all times with the issuer of their CHL. If you move to a different address in Lane County, you are required to change your address with us (ORS 166.295 {2}). This can now be done by mail in our county.

Follow the link below for instructions and Change of Address Forms: 

Link to:    CHL Change of Address Instructions & Form


Federal Firearms Transfer Application
 

Link to:    Federal Firearms Transfer Application

Link to:    CHL Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)