Lane County government operates under a home rule charter approved by voters in 1962. The Charter  grants authority to a full-time compensated, five-person Board of County Commissioners to legislate and administer County government within the limits of that non-partisan authority. Lane County voters individually elect commissioners from specific geographic regions for four-year terms.  The Sheriff, Tax Assessor, and District Attorney are also elected by Lane County voters.

Mt. Pisgah Closed -

Mt. Pisgah (Howard Buford Recreation Area) will remain closed to all visitors through Monday, August 19, as crews continue fire mop-up.