Federal Firearms Transfer; Firework Permits; OLCC Permits

Sheriff's Office Badge

Federal Firearms Transfer

The National Firearms Act (NFA) makes it illegal for a citizen to own certain types of weapons without having completed the appropriate process for possession through the US Department of Justice / Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms (ATF). Those weapons are: 

• A shotgun having a barrel or barrels of less than 18 inches in length; 
• A weapon made from a shotgun, if such weapon, as modified, has an overall length of less than 26 inches, or a barrel or barrels of less than 18 inches in length; 
• A rifle having a barrel or barrels of less than 16 inches in length; 
• A weapon made from a rifle, if such weapon, as modified, has an overall length of less than 26 inches, or a barrel or barrels of less than 16 inches in length; 
• Any other weapon, as defined in subsection (e); 
• A machine gun; 
• Any silencer, as defined in section 921 of Title 18, United States Code; and, 
• A destructive device. 

A person wishing to legally possess any of these weapons must: 

Register the NFA firearm by filing and receiving an approved ATF Form 1 Application to Make and Register a Firearm; or, 

Transfer the NFA firearm to another person by filing and receiving an approved ATF Form 4, Application for Tax Paid Transfer and Registration of Firearm. 

Applications to make or transfer a firearm will not be approved if Federal, State, or local law prohibits the making or possession of the firearm. 

The “Law Enforcement Certification” sections must be signed off by the “Chief Law Enforcement Officer” of the locale in which the applicant lives. These sections can be found in Section 10 of ATF Form 1 and section 13 of ATF Form 4. .Per ATF guidelines, “the chief law enforcement officer is the local chief of police, county sheriff, head of the State police, State or local district attorney or prosecutor.” 

Persons wishing to have these forms signed off by the Lane County Sheriff should present the completed form to the Sheriff’s Office Central Reception. This process can take several days or longer depending on the availability of the Sheriff at the time. There is a fee of $65 for this service, which does not include any fees due to the ATF for the transfer. 

The Lane County Sheriff’s Office provides only the required background check for the Law Enforcement Certification required on the form. Further questions about possession of these restricted weapons, the qualifications required, or the process to obtain approval of these forms should be directed to the ATF at http://www.atf.gov. 

OLCC Permits

The Sheriff’s Office provides the required law enforcement background check and sign off for certain Oregon Liquor Control Commission permits as required by statute. Persons who will be selling alcohol in the unincorporated areas of Lane County, including both businesses and special event sales, can present their completed OLCC application to the Sheriff’s Office Central Reception. The applicant should be prepared to provide the date of birth for any listed business principals or site managers for special sales/events. There is a fee of $25 for business licensing/renewals, and $15 per day for special event permits. 

The Sheriff’s Office follows criteria for approval which are based on Oregon Revised Statutes, OLCC regulations and Lane Code. Per Lane Code, the Sheriff’s Office works in conjunction with Lane County Public Works Land Management regarding all applications. 

County Ordinance requires that the Lane County Sheriff’s Office check with Lane County Land Management before approving an OLCC application to make sure all applicable land use regulations are in compliance. The fee connected with the application covers that work, as well as the required background check, and is not refundable should the permit be denied for any reason. Any issue with non-refunded fees due to land compliance issues will need to be worked out between the applicant and the land owner/event organizer.

Further questions about obtaining a liquor license or special permit should be directed to the OLCC at 1-800-452-6522. 

Fireworks Permits

The Sheriff’s Office provides the required law enforcement background check and sign off for certain fireworks display events, as prescribed by the Oregon State Fire Marshal’s Office. The criteria for approval are based on Oregon Administrative Rules and Lane Code. 

Persons wishing to put on fireworks displays in unincorporated Lane County should present their completed Oregon State Fire Marshal’s General Fireworks Display Application to the Sheriff’s Office Central Reception. The applicant should be prepared to provide the date of birth of the Display Operator, as well as all Operator Assistants listed on the application, and pay a fee of $25 per event. 

Please be advised that permits for events occurring over waterways may require additional permits and sign-offs. Further questions about obtaining a fireworks display permit should be directed to the Oregon State Fire Marshal’s Office. at 503-373-1540.